Underage DWI Lawyer in San Antonio
Fight Your Underage DWI Charges in Texas
Being charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI) can be a very serious matter. If you are an adult and are convicted of this offense, you could face harsh penalties, including jail time and steep fines. If you are a minor, your situation is even more serious. In addition to the penalties that an adult faces, minors who are convicted of DWI will have their driving privileges suspended. In addition, they may have to attend DWI school and/or an alcohol awareness program. If you are a minor who has been charged with DWI, you need an attorney who understands the legal issues specific to minors and DWI charges.
If you are a minor and you have been charged with DWI, you should consult with an attorney as soon as possible. An experienced underage DWI attorney at the Law Office of Kerrisa Chelkowski can help you to understand the legal process and your rights. She can also help you to fight the charges against you and work to get the charges reduced or dropped.
Penalties for Underage DWI
In Texas, it is illegal for minors to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of at least .02 percent. If a minor is pulled over by police and they have a BAC between .02 percent and .08 percent, they will be charged with an offense. However, if the minor has a BAC of .08 percent or higher, they will be charged with a misdemeanor DWI. A DWI conviction can result in the loss of driving privileges and the payment of fines and court fees.
Therefore, if a driver is under 21 with any detectable amount of alcohol, an underage DWI charge is a Class C misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of up to $500, mandatory alcohol awareness course, community service (20 to 40 hours), and license suspension for a minimum of 60 days up to 180 days
Yet, if a driver is 17 years of age or older and their BAC is at least .08 percent, they will be charged with a Class B misdemeanor, which carries a fine of up to $2,000, jail time of up to 180 days, mandatory alcohol awareness course, community service (40 to 60 hours), and license suspension for a minimum of 180 days up to 2 years.
If you are a minor and have been arrested for DWI, you should consult with an attorney as soon as possible. An experienced attorney can help you to understand the legal process and your rights. An attorney can also help you to fight the charges against you and work to get the charges reduced or dropped.
Contact Our San Antonio Underage DWI Defense Attorney
As a former prosecutor, Attorney Chelkowski understands how prosecutors build DWI cases against defendants. She knows the weaknesses in DWI cases and can use that knowledge to build strong defenses for her clients. If you are a minor who has been charged with DWI, she can help you to protect your rights and fight the charges against you.
Call our San Antonio underage DWI lawyer at (210) 228-9393 today to discuss your case and learn about your legal options.