Notice: We are open and due to COVID-19 we are happy to conduct consultations either via video chat, phone, or email. Please don’t hesitate to call us if you have any questions!

San Antonio Criminal Defense Attorney
Get Started 210.201.7821
Defending Texas

with Experience & Respect

San Antonio First-Time DWI/DUI Attorney

Arrested for your first DWI? Call my office now!

Most of the people who come to me for help at the Law Office of Kerrisa Chelkowski after an arrest for drinking and driving are not criminals. They are good people, ordinary people, who have found themselves in a highly stressful and often frightening situation. Nobody ever plans to drink and drive and most are surprised to find out that they have committed a crime.

This is most likely the first time you were ever placed in handcuffs, the first time you have been seated in the back of a police car, and the first time you were booked at a jail. Now, you are probably concerned about what the future may hold, and you may not know what to expect next.

If you come to my office for help, you can know that I have more than a decade of experience, and I am ready to fight for you as your San Antonio DWI attorney.

Penalties for a First-Time DWI Offense in Texas

The sentence you can receive for a first-time drunk driving offense is harsh. It is intended to be tough enough not only to punish the offender but also to deter the driver from committing a repeat offense. Your sentence may include a fine of up to $2,000 and a 1-year driver's license suspension, as well as jail time lasting between 3 and 180 days.

In the event that you were arrested with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.15 percent or more, the court may additionally order you to pay for the installation and maintenance of an ignition interlock device, which is essentially a breathalyzer that is hardwired into the ignition system in order to prevent the vehicle from starting unless the driver has provided a clean breath sample.

What if I am under the age of 21?

Texas law takes a tough stance against underage drinking and driving. Drivers younger than the age of 21 years can be charged with driving under the influence (DUI) if they are found with any detectable amount of alcohol in their blood or breath. The penalties for DUI include a $500 fine, a 60-day driver's license suspension, and court-ordered community service for between 20 and 40 hours, in addition to attendance at a mandatory alcohol-awareness class. In the event that an underage driver is arrested with a BAC of 0.08 or more, he or she can be charged with DWI as described above, provided that the driver is at least 17 years old.

Schedule Your Free Case Evaluation Today

I have over a decade of experience to offer and have been given a 10.0 Superb Avvo Rating, denoting my extensive experience in the field. Be sure to fill out my free case evaluation today so that I can begin to look over your case and get you on the road towards freedom from your charges.

Be sure to contact my office to learn more about the dire consequences you could face if charged with DWI or DUI in San Antonio.

“Thank You Again for Making Such a Horrific Situation Seem So Painless.”

- Former Client
Contact Us
  • Please enter your name.
  • This isn't a valid email address.
    Please enter your email address.
  • This isn't a valid phone number.
    Please enter your phone number.
    You entered an invalid number.
  • Please select an option.
  • Please enter a message.